Who We Are

The Ohio 8 is a strategic alliance composed of the superintendents and teacher union presidents from Ohio’s eight urban school districts – Akron, Canton, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Dayton, Toledo and Youngstown.


The Ohio 8 Coalition was founded on the principle that a high-performance public education system is essential to the civic and economic health of Ohio’s cities. The Coalition is the first-ever formal collaboration of Ohio’s urban superintendents and teacher union presidents. With a strong emphasis on collaboration and partnership, the Coalition enables superintendents and union presidents to work together on issues of common concern and brings a shared labor-management perspective in addressing challenges of urban education.

 Coalition Leadership

The Ohio 8 Coalition is governed by a Leadership Council, currently co-chaired by Adrian E. Allison, superintendent of Canton City School District, and David Romick, president of the Dayton Education Association.

Leadership Council Members


David James, Superintendent, Akron Public Schools

Pat Shipe, President, Akron Education Association


Adrian Allison, Superintendent, Canton City Schools

Paul Palomba, President, Canton Professional Educators Association


Mary Ronan, Superintendent, Cincinnati Public Schools

Julie Sellers, President, Cincinnati Federation of Teachers


Eric Gordon, CEO, Cleveland Municipal School District 

David Quolke, President, Cleveland Teachers Union


J. Daniel Good, Superintendent, Columbus City Schools

Tracey Johnson, President, Columbus Education Association


Lori L. Ward, Superintendent, Dayton Public Schools

David Romick, President, Dayton Education Association


Dr. Romules Durant, Superintendent, Toledo Public Schools

Kevin Dalton, President, Toledo Federation of Teachers


Stephen Stohla, Superintendent, Youngstown City Schools

Larry Ellis, President, Youngstown Education Association