"Improving urban education policy and practice collaboratively"

8 superintendents, 8 teacher union presidents, 1 shared mission

Who We Are

The Ohio 8 is a strategic alliance composed of the superintendents and teacher union presidents from Ohio’s eight urban school districts – Akron, Canton, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Dayton, Toledo and Youngstown.


The Ohio 8 Coalition’s mission is work collaboratively to improve academic performance, increase graduation rates and close the achievement gap for urban children throughout Ohio. The Coalition carries out its mission by working closely with legislators, educators, parents, labor and community officials.

What We Do

The Ohio 8 Coalition’s work focuses on key initiatives that further the member’s commitment to improving student achievement in Ohio’s urban districts. The work, undertaken with both labor-management and multi-city collaboration, focuses on four strategic priorities: teaching and learning, government relations/public policy, public awareness and collaboration & leadership.

Multi Media Bar

David Romick Testifies for Ohio 8 Coalition

David Romick, President of Dayton Education Association and a member of the Ohio 8...

Akron Public School Student

A student at Akron Public Schools during independent reading.

Dayton Public Schools Navy ROTC Members

Members of Dayton Public Schools Navy ROTC Program prepare for a school event.

Youngstown City Schools students in Washington, D.C.

Youngstown City Schools students visit and tour sites in Washington, D.C., including the...

Parent volunteer reading with Cincinnati Public Schools student

A parent volunteer read with a student at Cincinnati Public Schools

Canton City School Students

Canton City School students hard at work.